Press Releases|

Senior officials of the member countries of Heart of Asia-Istanbul Process met yesterday on the sidelines of the 70th UNGA Session in New York.

The Senior Officials Meeting, co-hosted by Pakistan and Afghanistan, was the 12thmeeting at this level since the Heart of Asia-Istanbul Process began in 2011. The agenda of the current meeting was to deliberate upon the draft Islamabad Declaration that will be adopted at the 5th Heart of Asia Ministerial Meeting in Islamabad on December 7-8, 2015.

Foreign Secretary Aizaz Ahmad Chaudhry and Afghan Deputy Foreign Minister Hekmat Khalil Karzai co-hosted the event on behalf of their respective sides.

Heart of Asia – Istanbul Process member countries include Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and UAE. In addition, there are twelve supporting countries including Australia, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Iraq, Japan, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, UK and US.

September 28, 2015

Close Search Window