Press Releases|


Pakistan has been elected to the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG). The decision was taken at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Colombo today. This is the first time that Pakistan would be serving on this Commonwealth body.

The CMAG is a key ministerial policy forum which is entrusted with the task of promoting Commonwealth values and principles of democracy, rule of law, peace, freedom and opportunity for all. It comprises eight members plus the CHOGM chair in office as an ex-officio member. Besides Pakistan, Cyprus, Guyana, India, New Zealand, Solomon Islands and Sri Lanka joined Sierra Leone and Tanzania as new members of CMAG. The members are elected for a maximum two terms of two years each.

17 November 2013

Close Search Window