Press Releases|


The first meeting of the Working Level of the Afghanistan-Pakistan Joint Commission for Peace was held on 29 June 2011 in Kabul at the premises of the Afghan Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Pakistani delegation, led by H.E. Salman Bashir, Foreign Secretary, was composed of Mr. Mohammad Sadiq, Major General Ishfaq Nadeem Ahmad, Major General Sahibzada Isfandyar Pataudi, and Mr. Alamgir Babar.

The Afghan delegation led by H.E. Jawed Ludin, Deputy Foreign Minister was composed of Mr. Masoom Stanakzai , Mr. Mohammad Umar Daudzai, Mr. Shaida Mohammad Abdali, Gen. Hassamudin Marzi, , Mr. Mohammad Younus Farman and General Afzal Aman, and Mr. Fazal Karim Aimaq.

In light of the understanding reached at the inaugural meeting of the Joint Commission at the heads of government level held on 11 June 2011 in Islamabad, substantive deliberations were held at today’s meeting in a cordial and constructive manner on a number of relevant aspects relating to the Afghan-led peace and reconciliation efforts with a view to ensuring its success.

The Government of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan reaffirmed its support for the Afghan-led and Afghan-owned peace and reconciliation process, and its readiness to encourage and facilitate a process that is all inclusive.

Both sides decided to set up specialized working groups to deliberate in-depth on related aspects and propose concrete steps to move forward in a responsible and sure-footed manner.

Both sides agreed that the next meeting of the Commission will be held in Islamabad in August 2011.

29 June 2011

Close Search Window